New beginnings

I know this may come a bit late, but Happy New Year to all of you. My new year started out in a different city, on a different continent and with a considerably colder climate. I decided to make the big leap across the ocean to pursue my career and my heart. The decision wasn’t an easy one to make.

Leaving behind my family and friends; the lovely warm Cape climate; the smell of Mum’s home cooking; and all the familiar little traits that constitute home was harder than expected. But when it came down to it, I packed up my life in 30kg of baggage and boarded a plane headed for London.  Although I’ve been here before, everything feels different this time around and my body still seems to be recovering from the shock of the extreme climate change, but I know that in time I’ll adjust.

I made a decision a few years back to live my life with as few regrets as possible. Granted, it hasn’t always been easy, but I’ve put on my brave face and tried to stay true to my word. It’s not always easy to make major changes in your life, especially when it involves leaving the ones you love behind.

Sometimes there are so many reasons not to do something, but the one compelling reason that shouts from your gut, is the one that keeps you going. So here’s to a new year, with new challenges and no regrets.

no-regrets-7v64ulzr3-122389-500-375
Image source: http://piccsy.com/
Leave a Reply

