My kind of "People"

“People, People who need people, are the luckiest people in the world.”

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a bit of a closet Barbara Streisand fan, ever since I saw the movie Funny Girl. The lyrics above are taken from one of my favourite songs by Streisand, coincidently called ‘People’. Who’d have guessed it right?
After a break from my studies, I decided to come back to uni this year and finished off what I started. So there I was, feeling like a fish out of water amongst a crowd of new faces and feeling a little old and out of place. At first, I must admit it took a bit of getting used to, but now that I’m nearly at the end of this epic long year, I can honestly say that I’m so happy to have been thrown in amongst this group of totally awesome people. 
So here’s the part where this gets a bit sentimental. It’s been a very long and challenging year and often it felt like I just didn’t have anything left to give, but thanks to my ‘peoples’ I’ve managed to survive. It’s not often that you get mashed together in a very stressful environment, with a group of strangers and you actually end up liking them. They’re a bunch of weird, quirky, special, funny, loud, crazy, expressive, and loveable people who (without knowing it) have helped me stay sane throughout this very draining year.
So, here’s to ‘the people’ who’ve made this year an absolute blast and made me realise that we all need people in order to survive. People like the Kardashian Clan in the back of the class; the Afrikaans meisie who goes gagga for Foster the People; the skater chick with the Cape Flats twang; the bubbly little person with the hyper laugh; the Class Rep with no clutch control; the Chatterbox Brit and her clan; the fashion concious Frenchie; the witty Twitter bug who everyone loves; the friendliest guy with the deepest voice I’ve ever heard; the noughts and crosses crew at the back of Research and the very well-versed Tourist Guide.  
To all of you, who’ve made this year bearable, because after all, ‘people who need people, are the luckiest people in the world’! You’re all Legends!!!
4 thoughts on “My kind of "People"

Leave a Reply

