Be Bold and Mighty Forces will come to your aid

I normally start every year on a bit of a high, with lots of dreams, hopes, plans and enormous amounts of ambition. Every new year feels like a fresh start to me. A new beginning, a new challenge and an opportunity to make things happen.

This year, was no different. It started off with a bang, looking bright and shiny and new! I was so amped to get going, I could barely contain my excitement. I was looking forward to so many things: being a student again; moving back home; seeing my family again; catching up with old friends and making new ones; doing some volunteer work; soaking up the sun; exercising; and making a start on my many little personal projects I’d been meaning to do for so long. 
It was all so exciting and I felt like a ball of energy heading for success. Then came the mountain! It hit me right in the face, knocked me off my feet and dropped me on my head with a loud THUD! Bringing me right back down to reality. What a buzz kill! Sure, I knew it was coming. I knew it wasn’t all going to be easy and breezy, but the hard bits always hit you from behind and always so unexpectedly.  
So needless to say, there have been many challenges in this year. Many late nights and early mornings devoted to conquering assignments; many depressing days filled with sulks over the ‘long distance’ in my long distance relationship; many days spent planted at my desk while the rest of Cape Town enjoy the sunshine; and too many days wishing this would all soon come to an end. 
The mountain, has been a massive challenge and there have been many times where I’ve had to pull on my ‘big girl panties’ and just suck it up and now that I’m nearly at the top, I’m literally dragging myself toward the finish line and wishing that the ‘mighty forces’ like Luke Skywalker would just show up and give me a push toward the finish.  In a race, you always hear people say that you should ‘finish strong’, but by God, I’d just like to finish right about now. It’s tough, but I’m determined to get there in one piece and looking forward to finally bidding my student days farewell. 
So here’s to meeting the challenge, surviving the highs and the lows and here’s to kicking that mountain’s ass and then breezily cascading down the waterfall on the other side (a girl can dream, can’t she?).  Only ten more weeks to go and I can’t wait to bid farewell to 2011 and welcome the new challenges that await in 2012. Here’s to the last stretch, lets make it count!
Image source: http://piccsy.com/
2 thoughts on “Be Bold and Mighty Forces will come to your aid

Leave a Reply

