Oh the places you’ll go!

I’ve always considered myself to be a bit of an explorer. I love discovering new places, jetting off to different countries and getting to know more about people’s cultures and so its no surprise that my favourite Cat in the Hat book is Oh the places you’ll go!

It’s one of my all time favourite books, although I’ve never owned a copy, something which I hope to remedy soon. However, everytime I read the book it sparks something inside me and inspires me to explore further than my little corner of the earth. One of my favourite lines from the book goes a little something like this: ‘ So be sure when you step. Step with great care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act. ‘

I think the book describes the life of a traveller very well, because it talks about the great adventures you’ll have and the exciting things and places you’ll discover, but it also reminds you of how lonely it can be, how sometimes you’ll fall on hard times and the winds will get knocked out of your sails, something I can relate to. I absolutely adore this book and once I get my hands on a copy, I’ll be sure to pass on the lessons in the book to my own children one day. That Dr. Seuss, he sure is a wise guy 😉

An excerpt from the great Dr. Seuss (Oh the places you’ll go):

‘And will you succeed? 
Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and  ¾ percent guaranteed.)
Kid, you’ll move mountains! 
So…be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray or Mordecai Ale Van Allen O’ Shea, you’re off to Great Places! Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. 
So… get on your way!’ 




Image source:
http://livesimplyfree.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/oh-the-places-youll-go.jpeg

Leave a Reply

