Mama said there’d be days like this

I was trying to think of something inspirational or at least something bright and sun-shiny to blog about this week, but my bucket of inspiration seemed to be well and truly depleted and as much as I would’ve loved to write something really moving and inspiring right now, all I can do is tell it like it is.

So for the past couple of weeks I’ve been surrounded with the worst possible karma. I’d say I’m generally quite an optimistic person but for the past month or so I’ve been stuck in a bit of a rut that I just can’t seem to get out of and every time I manage to get the ball rolling again, something really crappy happens.

I guess the easiest thing for anyone to do after a tremendous amount of pressure, over a prolonged period of time, would just be to give up and sulk and I’ve gotta admit that this option has seamed very appealing for this past month or so. Okay, so there has been a bit of sulking and a few tears and some very good red wine.

But despite all this , I keep reminding myself not to drop ‘the ball’. Yes, life can be super shitty sometimes, but I still believe in the advice that I often dish out to my friends, which is that you’ve got to make it through the really shitty bits in order to truly appreciate the really brilliant bits.

So I hope that my optimism, although it’s been severely tested lately, will be of some encouragement to those of you who’ve been experiencing some bad karma lately. However, if that doesn’t work, I say turn on some Van Morrison and stuff your face with some fabulous Woolies cupcakes or try the list below 😉

Leave a Reply

