What’s the big idea?

“Nothing is more dangerous than an idea, when you only have one idea” (Alain). 
At the beginning of the year I set myself some goals. There were certain things I wanted to achieve, new things I wanted to try and experiences I wanted to have. It was all very exciting, a new year with new plans and new ideas. However as the year progressed my plans changed somewhat, certain changes had to be made, some benchmarks adjustments and some goals postponed. 
I had to adapt to my situation and this meant that I’d also have to tweak some of my ideas. Certain ideas were scrapped completely and others just seemed irrelevant after some time and so fell away. But, none of it mattered, because it made me realise something very important. 
Being somewhat of a planner, I like to start every new year afresh, with new plans, ideas, goals and dreams. Being human however, I know that life does not always work out according to our plans and sometimes you have to adjust your sails and change direction. Even though things don’t always go according to plan and your ideas don’t always go the way you want them to, the important thing is that you have them. 
Make plans, dream up ideas and set goals, they might not all materialise, but the important thing is to keep wanting and expecting more of yourself and in so doing, allow yourself to grow as an individual.

Leave a Reply

