The art of spoken word

I’m a huge fan of Poetry and more specifically Spoken Word.  You see, I have a thing for words, honest words which have the ability to move me in a way that nothing and no one has ever been able to. That being said, I’ve got a little confession to make, I’ve got a crush. You know the kind where your heart starts racing, you get all hot and flustered under the collar and feel as if you’re doing a million somersaults per second in mid-air.

Who’s the crush you ask? Well, her name is Sarah Kay and she’s a New York born poet. Okay, so my crush is not so much on Sarah herself, but more on the magnificent utterings that she inspires me with. This woman’s poetry is the stuff that dreams are made of and have brought me to tears on more than one occasion. I’ve been a loyal follower for about 3years now and every time I hear a new piece of hers it feels like a breath of fresh air.

It’d be hard to single out my favourite poem of hers, since I practically adore nearly every one of them. So instead, I’ll share a few of them in due course, but here’s one of my favourites at the moment, it’s called Long Distance Love. My favourite excerpt from the poem is:

‘You can only fit so many words in a postcard. Only so many in a phone call. Only so many into space, before you forget that words are sometimes used for things other than filling emptiness. It is hard to build a body out of words. I have tried. We have both tried. ‘

You can watch the full video here.

Long Distance Love by Sarah Kay

I had already fallen in love with too many postage stamps, when you appeared on my doorstep wearing nothing but a post stamp promise.

No, appeared is the wrong word. Is there a word for sucker punching someone in the heart? Is there a word for when you’re sitting at the bottom of the roller coaster and you realise the climb is coming, that you know what the climb means, that you can already feel the flip in your stomach from the fall, before you’ve even moved? Is there a word for that?

There should be. You can only fit so many words in a postcard. Only so many in a phone call. Only so many into space, before you forget that words are sometimes used for things other than filling emptiness. It is hard to build a body out of words. I have tried. We have both tried.

Instead of holding your head to my chest, I tell you about the boy who lives downstairs from me, who stays up all night long practising his drum set. The neighbours have complained, they have busy days tomorrow, but he keeps on thumping through the night. Convinced, I think, that practice makes perfect.

Instead of holding my hand, you tell me about the sandwich you ate for lunch today. How the pickles fit so perfectly with the lettuce. Practice does not make perfect, practice makes permanent. Repeat the same mistakes over and over and you don’t get any closer to Carnegie Hall, even I know that. Repeat the same mistakes over and over and you don’t get any closer. You, never get any closer.

Is there a word for the moment you win tug of war, when the weight gives and all that extra rope comes hurdling toward you. How even though you’ve won, you still wind up with muddy knees and burns on your hands, is there a word for that? I wish there was. I would’ve said it when we were finally together on your couch, neither one of us with anything left to say.

Still now, I send letters into space, hoping that some mail man somewhere will track you down and recognise you from the description in my poems. That he will place the stack of them in your hands and tell you, ‘there’s a girl who still writes you, she doesn’t know how not to.’

Image source:
http://www.google.com/imgres?q=spoken+word&um=1&hl=en&sa=N&biw=966&bih=488&tbm=isch&tbnid=ICO3MLx7kym5QM:&imgrefurl=http://peachart.wordpress.com/&docid=21kjmcuZw03xFM&w=640&h=480&ei=xIg0TvXBKsas8QPAvOWaAg&zoom=1

2 thoughts on “The art of spoken word

Leave a Reply

