15 minutes of fame

Andy Warhol said, “In the future everybody will be world famous for fifteen minutes.” I’d hope that my 15 minutes would count for something other than a cheap thrill, something that actually matters. If I were world famous for 15minutes, I hope it would be because I did something really meaningful to help mankind, something heroic.

I’ve never wanted to be famous, but if I was granted my few minutes in the spotlight, I’d want it to be memorable. I’m not sure what that would look like, but I’m pretty sure that it wouldn’t be anything along the lines of a ‘leaked sex tape’ or a reality t.v. show; because at the end of the day it’s not the 15minutes that count, it’s what you do thereafter. It’s how you live your life and what you do with that fame long after the lights have dimmed and the camera is no longer rolling.

One of my favourite rappers, Nas has this song called One Mic which I think says it best: ‘…all I need is one mic, one beat, one stage…All I need is one life, one try, one breath, I’m one man, what I stand for speaks for itself…’

Image sources: 


Leave a Reply

