Are we there yet?

I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I’m at a stage in my life where I can’t seem to sit still for very long. I’m constantly overcome by a huge sensation which appears to be a mixture of excitement and anticipation for what the future holds. Some would say I’ve got ants in my pants and I guess that wouldn’t be too far off the mark.

I think I’ve finally reached a point where I’m happy with who I am and where I’m going. Now, that’s not to say I’m a completely fabulous know-it-all or that I have any clue as to where I’m headed, I’m just saying that I’ve reached a place of contentment. For a very long time I had a very different outlook on life, everything needed to be planned and controlled in great detail, there had to be a logical and more importantly practical structure in place and there had to be a time scale for everything.

However, I’m very happy to report that things have changed and that I have since moved on from that ‘very dark’ place in my life. ha ha! My life experiences have changed me and the people I’ve met have challenged my thinking and influenced me in different ways. I’ve since discovered that the best and the worst times of your life cannot be planned and that there is no time scale to a good laugh or a dinner date. For me it has been the most life changing discovery and has transformed the way I think and the way I live my life. I’ve finally learnt how to just BE….

However that being said, now that I know that not everything needs to be controlled, I feel like there’s a whole other world out there just waiting to be discovered and I for one can’t wait. I feel like I’m an escape convict who’s constantly on the run and the sheer adrenaline of it all is phenomenal.  I’ve got no set plan for my future, but I know that I want to keep exploring, keep discovering, keep learning and just darn well LIVE! 

I’ve met so many people, and I suppose I used to be one of them, that are so caught up in making plans and keeping time that they forget the most important part of the destination is not getting there, but it’s the journey. So maybe instead of us constantly asking ‘Are we there yet?’, we should be asking… ‘where to next?…’  and perhaps we should try taking a leaf out of the pages of the wisest person I know and my good friend Dr. Seuss:

”Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. 
So…get on your way!”

Picture sources:
http://www.europeword.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/European-Road-Trip.jpg
http://www.shoestringmag.com/files/images/main/road_trips.jpg
http://www.childmode.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/drseuss.jpg

2 thoughts on “Are we there yet?

  1. Roslyn says:

    Mine comes in waves. Lows come near the end of a contract when I'm unsure about what I wanna be doing, and excitement kicks in again near the very end when I'm closer to figuring out where to next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

