Wedding cake in the middle of the road

So I should probably put it all out there from the get go and admit that I’ve always been a bit of a pessimist when it comes to weddings. In all honesty, up until fairly recently I’d much rather have attended a funeral than a wedding. For me, weddings were just another soppy romantic affair with two people committing to a lifetime of agony together in the presence of a bunch of people who were only really there for the food anyway (right?) and no hidden surprises, I mean seriously, for once would someone just  ‘OBJECT’ already!?!?

Uh uhm, so now that that’s out of my system, I can honestly say that I’ve finally come around to the idea of weddings or more importantly marriage. It might have a little something to do with the fact that many of my friends have recently gotten married or engaged, or it might have a little something to do with the fact that I understand the concept of love and commitment a lot better now. But, I now sincerely share in the joy of newly weds, particularly the ones closest to me.

Recently, at My Best Friend’s Wedding (and I’m not referring to the movie) I had the joy of sharing  the entire wedding experience with her. Everything from the excitement of the engagement (which we had all been anticipating for years), to the planning, to the wedding jitters and finally the Big Day! I thoroughly enjoyed the entire encounter and was filled with genuine happiness and love for the happy couple.

Personally, I’ve always viewed marriage as a huge burden and a bit of life sentence. I think I developed this ideology by observing certain couples who’ve been married for years and just don’t seem to particularly like each other or their lives. It just seems like a lose, lose situation, a bit like a wedding cake in the middle of a road– it looks like a great idea to begin with, but in the end all you’re left with is road kill.

But I’ve since realised that not all marriages are prisons, when it’s the right fit and two people really work at it, it could be the fairytale you’ve always dreamt of, albeit a more realistic version (no wands, or sparkly dust). I guess I probably sound like a soppy romantic idiot by now, but indulge me for just a little longer.

One of my favourite quotes by my man Dr. Seuss, goes a little something like this: ”You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.” I figure that when you decide to get married and make that life long commitment, that’s the way it should feel. After all, who doesn’t love a stay-awake right?





Picture sources:

http://www.bridalwave.tv/justmarried.jpg
http://lifeincolor.typepad.com/life_in_color/images/2007/04/16/catch.jpg
http://ganimsflorist.com/Florist_Website_2010/Vendors/bouquets_bridesmaids.jpg

One thought on “Wedding cake in the middle of the road

Leave a Reply

